Skip to content
Tuesday, 22 September 2026 Dubai · GST
UAE, UNFILTERED
Trend Analysis

Paymob Raised $35M After GCC Revenue Grew 7×. Nearly Half Its Revenue Now Comes From the Gulf

Paymob has raised $35 million in a pre-Series C round co-led by Mubadala and EBRD. The more revealing number is underneath the funding: GCC revenue grew sevenfold in 18 months and now contributes close to half of the company’s total revenue.

Share this story

Paymob has raised $35 million in a pre-Series C round co-led by Abu Dhabi sovereign investor Mubadala and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. But the funding number is not the most useful signal in the announcement.

Over the last 18 months, Paymob says its consolidated revenue across four markets tripled, while revenue from the GCC grew sevenfold. Gulf markets now generate close to half of the company’s total revenue.

The Robius Action Brief
Useful
Why it matters

Paymob’s GCC revenue grew sevenfold in 18 months and now contributes close to half of company revenue, showing how quickly the payments company’s centre of gravity is shifting toward Gulf markets.

Who should care

UAE and GCC merchants, fintech operators, payment providers, SME platforms and investors tracking regional payments infrastructure.

Opportunities

The funding can accelerate Paymob’s GCC expansion, deepen SME payment products and support new infrastructure for AI-assisted or agentic commerce.

Risks or limitations

The sevenfold GCC growth, revenue mix and merchant figures are company-reported. The announcement does not disclose absolute GCC revenue, valuation, transaction volume or a timetable for specific agentic-commerce products.

What happens next

Watch for additional GCC product launches, merchant growth and concrete agentic-commerce payment products following the pre-Series C round.

What you can do

Merchants evaluating Paymob should compare supported payment methods, settlement terms, fees and local regulatory coverage against their existing payment stack.

Who benefits

Merchants may benefit from broader integrated payment options, while Paymob gains capital to expand its regional payments and agentic-commerce infrastructure.

Who can participate

Paymob serves merchants and businesses through its regulated payment operations; availability and payment methods vary by market.

What readers should monitor

GCC revenue share, merchant count, new regulated markets, payment-method expansion and named agentic-commerce products.

Why the GCC number matters

Paymob began in Egypt in 2015 and entered the UAE in 2023. The company received a Retail Payment Services Licence from the Central Bank of the UAE in January 2025 and says it has since onboarded roughly 20,000 merchants across its three GCC markets.

That makes the sevenfold GCC revenue increase more than a generic regional-growth claim. It suggests a company that was historically rooted in Egypt is becoming materially dependent on Gulf markets for its next phase. The wider shift toward more integrated financial tools is also visible in Citi’s UAE-first subscription controls.

The shift also helps explain Mubadala’s entry. The Abu Dhabi investor says the deal sits within its MENA Venture Capital Fund strategy and specifically links Paymob’s UAE expansion to the country’s digital economy and fintech ambitions.

What the $35 million is for

The round was co-led by Mubadala and EBRD, with British International Investment, Global Ventures and DPI Ventures also participating. Paymob says the money will support further MENA expansion, its core digital-payments acceptance business and new products for SME merchants.

One of those product directions is agentic commerce: payment infrastructure designed for transactions increasingly initiated or assisted by AI agents. Paymob says it wants to become a payments platform for that market, although the announcement does not disclose revenue from agentic-commerce products or a launch timetable for specific new services.

The infrastructure play

Paymob says merchants operating across MENA can need seven or eight separate payment methods, each with different integrations and settlement cycles. Its pitch is to collapse that fragmentation into one contract, API and dashboard offering access to more than 60 payment methods.

The company says its platform serves more than 390,000 merchants across the region. In Saudi Arabia, it opened a Riyadh office in 2023 and obtained a Payment Technical Service Provider licence from Saudi Payments; it also operates in Oman. Saudi Arabia is separately expanding digital finance infrastructure through projects such as PIF-backed Tawrid.

What to watch next

The next useful test is not whether Paymob can announce another market. It is whether the Gulf can move from roughly half of company revenue to the durable centre of the business while Paymob expands its product stack beyond conventional merchant acceptance.

For the UAE, the deal is also another example of Abu Dhabi capital backing payment infrastructure that is already operating locally rather than simply funding overseas exposure. Mubadala’s participation gives Paymob both capital and a strategic investor based in one of the markets driving its fastest growth.

Sources

Checked 21 September 2026. Funding, revenue-growth and merchant figures are company-reported unless otherwise stated.

Robius.news — Dubai, UAE — 2026 | Built to be first. Built to be trusted.